About Us

Primary Care Physicians' Representative Council election

Council welcomes four new members, Drs. Cook, MacDonald, Marshall and Quackenbush and two returning members, Drs. Gorman and Sauveur.

Election results

The election closed on Thursday, Nov. 9 for two seats on the Primary Care Physicians' Representative Council.

Halifax County Metro

Candidate VotesPercentage
Dr. Leisha Hawker, Halifax23 21
Dr. Lois MacGibbon, Dartmouth
25 23
Dr.  Cindy Marshall, Lower Sackville
59 55
Total votes107

Halifax County Rural

Candidate VotesPercentage
Dr. Alana Cormier, Musquodoboit Harbour19 48
Dr. Katherine Quackenbush, Upper Tantallon
21 52
Total votes167

Nominations closed on Oct. 10. The following members won a seat by acclamation.
  • Dr. Mary Gorman – Guysborough and Antigonish Counties
  • Dr. Michael MacDonald – Cape Breton County
  • Dr. Colette Sauveur - Cumberland County (incumbent will take a second term since no nominations were received)
  • Dr. Chris Cook - Colchester and Hants Counties

The following seat is still vacant:

  • Pictou County

Voting ran from Oct. 16 to Nov. 9 at 11:59 p.m.

Voting eligibility

Members of the Section of General Practice may only nominate physicians from their own county, and may only vote within their own county. All positions are two-year terms.

Honorarium and travel

Council members receive a $500 honorarium for each meeting and are reimbursed for travel expenses. Physicians have the option to connect to meetings via video-conference. The Council meets about four times a year, usually on Saturday mornings. 

About the Council
The Primary Care Physicians' Representative Council advocates for the business and interests of primary care physicians. The council's work involves developing strategies for dealing with key issues affecting the role, responsibilities, and capabilities of primary care physicians.

Influencing change

The Council has provided feedback on new scopes of practice for pharmacists, including the Bloom Project, and on the new Worker's Compensation Board contract, the Physician Resource Plan, the new medical staff bylaws, the collaborative care framework and physician-assisted death.

Sonia Abi-Ajab
Executive assistant to the President & CEO
902-481-4900 or 1-800-563-4900