About Us

GP Rep Council election

Dr. AJ Jayabarathan wins seat in 2016-17 election.

Election results

The election closed on Monday, Nov. 14  for one seat on the GP representative council.

Former Capital Health - Halifax Metro

Candidate VotesPercentage
Dr. AJ Jayabarathan, Halifax71
Dr. Cindy Marshall, Lower Sackville
Dr.  Joanna Zed, Halifax
Total votes167

Nominations closed on Oct. 17. The following members won a seat by acclamation.
  • Dr. Michel Chiasson – Cape Breton
  • Dr. Erica Lasher – South West
  • Dr. Gary Ernest – South Shore
  • Dr. Leslie Ribeiro - Annapolis Valley (joined in March, 2017)

The following seats are still vacant:

  • Colchester East Hants
  • Pictou*

*Dr. Ehab Soliman will continue to serve on the council for the next year until a replacement can be found.


Voting ran from Oct. 24 to Nov. 14.

Voting eligibility

Members of the Section of General Practice may only nominate physicians from their own district, and may only vote within their own district. All positions are two-year terms.

Honorarium and travel

Council members receive a $500 honorarium for each meeting and are reimbursed for travel expenses. Physicians have the option to connect to meetings via video-conference. The Council meets about four times a year, usually on Saturday mornings. 

About the GP Council
The Section of General Practice representative council advocates for the business and interests of family practice and family practitioners. The council's work involves developing strategies for dealing with key issues affecting the role, responsibilities, and capabilities of general and family practitioners.

Influencing change

The Council has provided feedback on new scopes of practice for pharmacists, including the Bloom Project, and on the new Worker's Compensation Board contract, the Physician Resource Plan, the new medical staff bylaws, the collaborative care framework and physician-assisted death.

Sonia Abi-Ajab
Executive assistant to the President & CEO
902-481-4900 or 1-800-563-4900