About Us

Achievement awards

Nominations for 2018 awards now closed.

Nominations closed

Nominations for the 2018 Achievement Awards are now closed. Awards will be presented at the annual conference, set for June 8-9.

Nova Scotia is home to many innovative and talented physicians and this ceremony is one way the association celebrates the dedicated work of its members.

Doctors Nova Scotia members are encouraged to nominate their colleagues for these awards. The nominee should be someone who has demonstrated great dedication to the profession and has made an important contribution to health care in Nova Scotia.

Ten doctors were honoured for their contributions to the medical profession at the 2017 Doctors Nova Scotia achievement awards ceremony held during last year's annual conference (see below). 

Awards presentation

The awards will be presented at Doctors Nova Scotia’s 2018 annual conference, on June 9 at the Membertou Trade & Convention Centre in Cape Breton, N.S.

2019 nominations

Nominations for the 2019 Achievement Awards will open in July.


Melissa Murray
Communications coordinator
Tel: 902-481-4923


 L-r: Drs. Keri-Leigh Cassidy, Roland (Rollie) Genge, Romesh Shukla, Elizabeth Mann, Ms. Sarah MacLaren (executive director, Leave Out Violence - NS, Strive Award winner), Drs. Gaynor Watson-Creed, Geoff Williams (Patient's Choice Award winner), Ronald Hatheway, Philippa (Pippa) Moss, John A. Sullivan. Missing Dr. Alexander (Alec) Allen

2017 award recipients

Distinguished Service Award:  Dr. Romesh Shukla

Dr. Romesh Shukla receives the Distinguished Service Award in recognition of his achievements as an anesthesiologist. Dr. Shukla has practised as an anesthesiologist for 34 years; he is currently head of the Department of Anesthesiology, Pain Management and Perioperative Medicine for the Nova Scotia Health Authority. He is a Past-President of Doctors Nova Scotia.

Rural Physician of the Year Award: Dr. Philippa (Pippa) Moss

Dr. Pippa Moss is a child and adolescent psychiatrist who is being recognized for her work providing specialized autism assessment services in the rural communities in and around Amherst, Truro, New Glasgow, and Sydney, N.S. Dr. Moss’s expertise and advocacy have been recognized nationwide; she is a Distinguished Fellow of the Canadian Psychiatric Association and is currently in her second term as president of the Nova Scotia Psychiatric Association.

Dr. William Grigor Award: Dr. Gaynor Watson-Creed

Dr. Gaynor Watson-Creed, Deputy Medical Officer of Health for Nova Scotia, has been awarded the Dr. William Grigor Award in recognition of her work to improve the health of all Nova Scotians. “Public health is fully multidisciplinary,” said Dr. Watson-Creed, who says she is perhaps most proud of her recent work on the Mayor’s Advisory Committee on a Healthy and Livable Halifax. But it’s early days yet – Dr. Watson-Creed has a long career ahead of her. “Public health is all about starting, not about finishing. The work we’re doing is a long-term project.”

Physician Health Promotion Award: Dr. Keri-Leigh Cassidy

Dr. Keri-Leigh Cassidy is a professor of geriatric psychiatry at Dalhousie University and the clinical academic director of the Dalhousie University/NSHA Geriatric Psychiatry Program. She receives the Doctors Nova Scotia Physician Health Promotion award in recognition of her work in leading the Fountain of Health Initiative, a national effort to promote brain health and resilience. Dr. Cassidy is a recognized national expert in late-life mood and anxiety disorders and in psychotherapy, having developed an evidence-based group psychotherapy treatment approach for late-life depression and anxiety disorders. She was also the recipient of the 2016 Canadian Academy of Geriatric Psychiatry Outstanding Contributions to Geriatric Psychiatry Award.

Doctors Nova Scotia Senior Membership Award

Dr. Alexander (Alec) Allen
Dr. Alexander Allen receives the Senior Membership Award in recognition of his 50-year career as a neonatologist at the Grace Hospital and IWK Health Centre. Dr. Allen spent 38 years as a practising academic clinician; following his retirement in 2003, Dr. Allen has been committed to neonatal-perinatal medicine research. In the half-century that he has been working in the field, Dr. Allen has contributed to a major improvement in the lives of newborn babies.
Dr. Roland (Rollie) Genge
Dr. Rolland Genge receives the Senior Membership Award in recognition of his long career as a family physician. He practiced family medicine in Stephenville, Nfld., for four years following his graduation from Dalhousie Medical School in 1971, then moved to Cape Breton in 1975. “My most cherished accomplishment has been the opportunity to advocate on behalf of my patients,” he said. “I consider it a privilege to be someone who has been in a position to make a difference for my patients.”

CMA Honorary Membership Award

Dr. Ronald Hatheway
Dr. Ronald Hatheway, a community cardiologist in Bridgewater, N.S., is being honoured with the CMA Honorary Membership Award in recognition of his service to patients and cardiology. Following seven years in general practice in British Columbia, Dr. Hatheway has been working for 30 years as a cardiologist – fulfilling a lifelong passion. Dr. Hatheway was instrumental in setting up an echocardiography lab and heart health clinics on the south shore of Nova Scotia, making it easier for patients to get the care they needed closer to home.

Dr. Elizabeth Mann
Dr. Elizabeth Mann receives the CMA Honorary Membership Award in honour of her 37-year career as a general internist in Halifax, working with patients at the VG Hospital, the QEII, and for a short time at the North End Community Health Centre. Dr. Mann has held numerous leadership roles, and served as president of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia (CPSNS) from 2012 to 2014. Retirement has allowed her to spend more time with her family and friends but, not wanting to leave medicine behind entirely, she has maintained her involvement with the CPSNS.

Dr. John A. Sullivan
Dr. John A. Sullivan receives the CMA Honorary Membership Award in recognition of a long career as a cardiovascular surgeon in Nova Scotia. He has spent almost 40 years performing life-saving heart surgeries for countless Nova Scotians, and is renowned for performing the first heart transplant in the province, in 1988. Dr. Sullivan is a Past-President of Doctors Nova Scotia; he is also a director for the Maritime Heart Center (a registered charity), a founding member and past-president of the Atlantic Vascular Society and a past-president of the Canadian Cardiovascular Society.


Melissa Murray
Communications coordinator
Tel: 902-481-4923